Welcome to 2020

In these times, writing is becoming more and more necessary. We need to observe, imagine, remember, connect. Our stories are warnings and celebrations. All our lives, what we remember are stories.

At the Long Way Home we’re making plans for 2020.

The 2020 Long Way Home Writing Competition for adults, primary students and high school students is now open. The theme is ‘Land/marks.’ By the end of the year we’ll publish the best entries in Stories from the Clarence Valley 2020. See our Competitions page for more details.

On Friday February 14 we’ll be at Grafton Library (10-11.30) for a special morning tea as part of Library Lovers Day We’ll be chatting about writing opportunities this year. It’s free. Hoping to see you.

In April we’re running creative writing workshops in Grafton and Yamba as part of the plunge Festival. See our Workshops page for more details.

This small, local, independent writing project grows more writers each year. People who don’t know they can write, become writers. Writers of all ages become published authors. Together we’re putting the Clarence Valley on the writing map. Will you be part of The Long Way Home in 2020?